Faculty of Philosophy

Faculty of Philosophy

Recent structural update

Faculty of Philosophy

The AMU Faculty of Philosophy was established in 2019 due to the reorganization of faculties. It follows the heritage of former Institute of Philosophy which was launched as a unit in 1970.

The diversity of knowledge and skills that students gain at the Faculty prepare them for taking up challenges in a wide variety of areas: public sector institutions, education, culture, media, advertising and business.  In the current labour market, there are many opportunities for philosophers (in the areas of ethics, public life, social communication and knowledge management), cognitive scientists, cultural studies experts, religious studies experts, social workers, sociologists and psychologists.


BA and MA Full Time Study Programs

The Faculty offers one major field of study:  Philosophy (Specializations: Public Life, Social Communication, Ethics, Knowledge Management) in Polish.

Students and faculty members take part in many projects that aim to support community relations in and around the city of  Poznan and the region. The Students’ Research Club, the Students’ Self-government, student and alumni associations, and informal student initiatives, organize scientific conferences, edit scientific journals for students, and carry out activities aimed at community building.

Main scientific areas of research:

  • Philosophy and methodology of natural science
  • Idealization in science
  • Rationality
  • Theory of communication
  • The role of procedures of interpretation and modeling in science and philosophy
  • Mathematical Logic
  • Realism – antirealism controversy
  • The role of non-casual (functional, genetic, subjective-rational) kinds of determination in development of science
  • Problems of theory – experiment relation
  • Postmodern concept of knowledge
  • History of philosophy
  • Ways of functioning of culture in various societies
  • The contemporary German Philosophy

Faculty units:

Department of Political and Social Philosophy
Department of Philosophy of Science
Department of Aesthetics
Department of Ethics
Department of Epistemology and Cognitive Science

Department of Didactics of Philosophy and Social Sciences
Department of Philosophical Anthropology
Department of Philosophy of Civilization and Technology
Department of History of Philosophy
Department of Theory and Philosophy of Communications
Department of Logics and Methodology of Science
Department of Philosophy of Culture
Department of Research on Ancient and Byzantine Philosophy

Centre for Transdisciplinary Research on Lay Judges and Courts DIKASTAI

The DIKASTAI centre which is a part of the Faculty activity:

  • performs comparative research of different models of lay adjudication (para-legal or non-legal professionals delivering verdicts in court) in Europe and worldwide
  • performs original research to determine what works (and what doesn’t) in Polish system of justice, and provides expert assistance to the reform process of the judicial system, especially supporting all initiatives to broaden and deepen the citizens involvement in the exercise of justice.
  • provides hands-on, expert assistance to citizens’ associations aiming at improving the institutions of lay participation of citizens in the exercise of justice.
  • is dedicated to disseminate information concerning lay adjudication through educational programs and public outreach.

We put the idea of collaboration with interested stakeholders, especially the community of lay judges, at the centre of our work. We have a strong relationship with the Association National Council of Lay Judges in Poland and independent representatives of Lay Judges Councils in main Polish courts, for which we provide ongoing strategic advice and programming.

Presently, the key programme realized by the Centre within the scope of Transdisciplinary Research Group in Ethics of Lay Judges concerns the construction of The Code of Ethical Conduct for Lay Judges in Poland.


Check the AMU-PIE website, here for short courses offered in English

For more information, please contact:

Wydział Filozofii

Faculty of Philosophy

ul. Szamarzewskiego 89 c
61-614 Poznań
ph.  (61)  829 22 80

Dean’s Office – room 223 (building C)

e-mail:  dulacz@amu.edu.pl


 dr Mariusz Szynkiewicz

e-mail:  marszyn@amu.edu.pl

ph. 61 829 21 01